Home / Story / The Niyamas And Yamas of Yoga
The Niyamas And Yamas of Yoga

The Niyamas And Yamas of Yoga


I. Yamas (Universal Morality)

1. Ahimsa – Compassion for all living things (kindness, friendliness, and thoughtful consideration of other people and things)

2. Satya – Commitment to Truthfulness (Satya should never come into conflict with our efforts to behave with ahimsa)

3. Asteya – Non-stealing (not taking anything that has not been freely given)

4. Brahmacharya – Sense control (we use sexual energy to regenerate our connection to our spiritual self. It also means that we don’t use this energy in any way that harm others)

5. Aparigraha – Neutralizing the desire to acquire and hoard wealth (letting go of our attachments to things and an understanding that impermanence and change are the only constants)

II. Niyama (Personal Observances)

1. Sauca – Purity (Cleansing of both the outer and inner aspects of our being)

2. Santosa – Contentment (modesty and the feeling of being content with what we have)

3. Tapas – Disciplined use of our energy (keeping the body fit and paying attention to body posture, attention to eating habits, attention to breathing patterns)

4. Svadhyaya – Self study (intentionally find self-awareness in all our activities and efforts, even to the point of welcoming and accepting our limitations)

5. Isvarapranidhana – Celebration of the Spiritual (the recognition that the spiritual suffuses everything and through our attention and care we can attune ourselves with our role as part of the Creator)

III. Asanas (Body postures)
The challenge of poses offers the practitioner the opportunity to explore and control all aspects of their emotions, concentration, intent, faith, and unity between the physical and the ethereal body

About seven

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Scroll To Top